Monday, 21 January 2013

Two new Graduates elected to UCD EGA Board

At the first EGA Board meeting of the year last Monday we confirmed the election of recent graduates Robyn Kelly and Angela Treanor to the UCD Engineering Graduates Association Board to fill two vacancies by co-option.

Robyn is a 2008 Biosystems Graduate of UCD who works in Bulmers food and beverages as a Financial Coordinator and prior to that she was an Environment Management intern in London. Robyn also has a Masters in Environmental Management from Kingston University London and has done charity work in Brazil.

Angela is a 2011 Civil Graduate of UCD who works in the Waste Energy and Environment section of RPS Consultants in Dun Laoghaire. She is currently Project Coordinator for the EU Commission Green Capital City award across the 27 Member States.

Robyn Kelly
Angela Treanor

We also appointed a number of Subcommittees to work on component parts of a new EGA Strategy to be finalised in March of this year. The EGA Constitution will then be updated to reflect any changes from the Strategy.

Four Subcommittees will work on Education, Membership, Finance and Marketing for discussion at the next Board Meeting in February and hopefully then finalisation of the Strategy in the following month.

The overall objective is to grow the EGA in a stronger body to assist the Schools of Engineering with their Development Plan and to raise the profile of UCD Engineering nationally and internationally.

We also discussed preparations for the Annual Lecture in April 2013 and the Distinguished Graduate Award in May. We gratefully acknowledged the financial support of Dun Laoghaire Rathdown County Council towards the planned Gathering Event in September.

I am very grateful for the support of the entire Board who attended the meeting. There was tremendous enthusiasm and interaction between all the Board Members both recent and long serving who are now truly representative of the profession in Ireland. It was an excellent start to an exciting and challenging year for the EGA.