Tuesday, 17 June 2014

Patrick Joy wins UCD Distinguished Graduate Award

Patrick Joy native of Clonmel and Founder of Suretank in Dunleer Co. Louth is the 2014 UCD EGA Distinguished Graduate. He was presented with the award at the EGA Annual Dinner in the National Concert Hall last Thursday.

Photo left to right PJ Rudden President UCD Engineering Graduates Association, 
Mary Joy, Patrick Joy and Professor Gerry Byrne UCD Dean of Engineering 

Suretank is the world's largest supplier of cargo carrier units (CCU) with 60% of the market share. The company currently employs 750 people with a turnover of €80 million. Patrick was the 2013 overall winner of the Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year and represented Ireland at the international competition in Monte Carlo last week.

From ESB Pat Naughton, Ellen Diskin and David O' Connell
"Patrick was a strong winner of this years award from among 8 eminent nominees from different fields of engineering. The EGA award is strongly centered on innovation, enterprise, job creation and acting as a role model for the profession" stated PJ Rudden, President of the UCD Engineering Graduates Association.

Larry O' Toole RPS, Rory Somers, Michelle Scanlon and Aidan Toher all from Bord Gáis
"It is a significant fact that the last two consecutive E & Y Entrepreneurs of the Year have been mechanical engineers in indigenous manufacturing industry - Edmond Harty of Dairymaster and now Patrick Joy of Suretank" Rudden continued " and this theme was the focus of our UCD Panel Discussion last Autumn with the Taoiseach Enda Kenny TD. Since then we have seen the indigenous manufacturing sector go from strength to strength.
Past Presidents of Engineers Ireland Seán Wallace and Brian Kearney
Patrick Joy stated " I feel very honoured and humbled by this award from my peers. Irish industry can compete with the best on the world stage if we continue to innovate because eventually your competitor will figure out how to produce your quality at a lower price. You need to stay ahead of the niche manufacturing game through R&D"
George Yound EGA Board and Dr. Liam Connellan last year's Distinguished Graduate

The EGA Annual dinner was attended by many of Ireland's leading utilities and engineering firms including ESB, Bord Gáis, CRH and RPS. 

Róisín Bradford Irish Water, Dave Phelan RPS, Emer Colwell RPS, Warren Phelan RPS, PJ Rudden EGA President,
 Ann-Marie McCague Commission for Energy Regulation (CER), Angela Treanor RPS
Marian Regan NewEra, Aine Dunne SCFI, Peadar O'Mahony Bord Gáis, PJ Rudden EGA President
Patrick Joy gives his acceptance speech